Mining Qualifications Authority (MQA) 2018 Bursary Scheme Intake

In bursaries
Mining Qualifications Authority (MQA) 2018 Bursary Scheme Intake

The application period for the 2018 MQA Bursary Scheme intake is now open and qualifying learners are invited to submit their applications.

The MQA would like to invite learners excelling in maths and science, who will be studying towards a career in the mining and minerals sector, to apply for an MQA bursary. The MQA Bursary Scheme is open to qualifying grade 12 learners or those currently writing their 2017 grade 12 examinations, and students who are studying towards a certificate, diploma, degree or BTech at a university or university of technology. Students at Technical Vocational, Education and Training (TVET) colleges also qualify.
1. The MQA bursary scheme only funds the following qualifications at universities and universities of technology:
  • Mining Engineering
  • Metallurgical Engineering (Extractive only)
  • Electrical Engineering (Heavy Current only)
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Chemical Engineering (Mineral Processing)
  • Environmental Health Management
  • Mining Survey
  • Electro-Mechanical Engineering
  • Jewellery Design and Manufacturing
  • Geology
  • Analytical Chemistry
  • Industrial Engineering
Any BTech qualification associated with the disciplines / courses listed above

Note: The MQA Bursary Scheme is not available for students who would like to pursue post-graduates studies. 

2. The MQA bursary scheme only funds the following qualifications at TVET colleges:
  • Diesel Mechanic
  • Fitter and Turner
  • Fitting including Machinery
  • Electrician
  • Boilermaker
  • Rigger Ropesman
  • Millwright
  • Instrumentation Mechanician
NB: Preference will be given to female applicants, applicants with disabilities and learners living in rural communities.
Application Window
The application period for the 2017 intake closes on 16 October 2017. Short-listed learners must submit their final matric results by 13 January 2018. Continuing bursars must also submit application forms by 13 January 2018.

Please take note of the following:


Learners who are applying for the first time for a MQA bursary must complete the form “2018 MQA Bursary Application Form – New Intake”.

2018 MQA Bursary Application Form – New Intake


Bursars who are currently being funded by the MQA must complete the form “2018 MQA Bursary Continuation Application Form”, to be funded for the 2018 academic year.

2018 MQA Bursary Continuation Application Form

Note: The applicant must ensure that they download and complete the correct application form. In the event that an applicant completes the incorrect application form, such an application will not be considered. Correspondence will only be entered into with the successful applicants. If you have not received further correspondence from the MQA by 30 November 2017, please consider your application as being unsuccessful. Late, e-mailed or faxed applications will not be considered.
Applications can also be requested from, and submitted to, the following MQA offices:

7 Anerley Road, Block C

Parktown, 2193

Postal: Private Bag X118, Marshalltown, 2107

Tel: 011 547 2600

Eastern Cape

King Sabatha Dalindyebo TVET College

R61 Queenstown Road

Cicira Village, Mthatha

Tel: 047 505 1063

Free State

Goldfields TVET College

14107 Ndaki Road, Tosa Campus


Tel: 087 095 0266


Sekhukhune TVET College

CN Phathudi Campus

Stand No. 2659, Praktiseer

Tel: 087 095 0267


Nkangala TVET College, Mpondozamkomo Campus

1 Moses Kotane Drive


Tel: 013 696 8120 / 8121

North West

Orbit TVET College

Mankwe Campus, Stand 230

Unit 2, Mogwase

Tel: 014 555 8860

Northern Cape

Northern Cape Rural TVET College

Kathu Campus

Hans Coetzee Drive

Tel: 053 723 0100

Applications can also be submitted at the following institutions with whom the MQA has made the necessary arrangements:

Institution Contact person(s) Drop-offs
University of Fort Hare Ms Mandisa Mlilo Financial Aid Office (Alice Campus)
University of Stellenbosch Ms Kaliie Sauls Undergraduate Bursaries and Loans Office, Admin A, Main Campus
University of Cape Town Ms Noluvuyo Capsana Fees Office, Kramer Building, Middle Campus
Cape Peninsula University of Technology Ms Siphokazi Mthyobile Office 5.1 Administration Building, Cape Town Campus
Nelson Mandela University Ms Buyiswa Yaya Financial Aid Counters, North Campus
University of Western Cape Ms Genevieve Fisher Financial Aid Office
Mangosuthu University of Technology Ms Cynthia Nkosi Financial Aid Office

All public institutions interested in assisting with collecting application forms on behalf of the MQA are welcome to contact the MQA Bursary Unit on 011 547 2700 to make the necessary arrangements. 

You may also read!

2017 Varsity Cup

Power play experiment a test for Varsity Cup rugby coaches

Prolific University of Johannesburg points scorer Divan Nel will not be part of the Varsity Cup competition when it

Madibaz athletics clinic LR 1

Madibaz present courses for athletes and coaches

The Bestmed Madibaz Athletics Club, in conjunction with Eastern Province athletics, will offer a number of courses for athletes

UJ win Varsity 7's Rugby final between UFS Kovsies and UJ at Kings Park

UJ dig deep to win Varsity Sevens title

The University of Johannesburg team celebrate their maiden triumph in the Varsity Sevens rugby tournament after they beat University


Mobile Sliding Menu

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :