Cape Town Surfriders Win Billabong South African Junior Surfing Championships

In Current Affairs, South Africa, sports
Kirsty McGillivray

U18 Girls winner Kirsty McGillivray Photo: © Kody McGregor


Lower Point, JBay – After five glorious days of excellent surf conditions in JBay, the Billabong SA Junior Champs drew to a close today in high-performance three-foot waves and offshore conditions at Lower Point.

There were some nail biting finals, and much attention on team spirit and The Freedom Cup.

In the U12 Girls it was Gabbie Herbst (eThekweni) who took the title from Scarlette van Jaarsveldt (Cape Town Surfriders), Zia Hendricks (Development) and Maya Figl (Cape Winelands).

The U12 Boys was won by Kyra Bennie (Cape Winelands) from Nate Colby (eThekweni), Ethan Currin (Buffalo City) and River Gericke (Eden).

Zoe Steyn (Buffalo City took the win in the U14 Girls from Katie Winter (Cape Town Surfriders), Lhea Johnston (Buffalo City) and Ceara Knight (Cape Winelands).

The highly competitive U14 Boys had Mitch Du Preez (Buffalo City) in the number one slot, ahead of Daniel Emslie (Buffalo City), Luke Thompson (eThekweni) and Kye Macgregor (Nelson Mandela Bay).

The tenacious Kai Woolf (Nelson Mandela Bay) won the U16 Girls from S’Nenhlanhla Makhubu (eThekweni), Tayla de Coning (Buffalo City) and Summer Sutton (Cape Town Surfriders).

Stylish surfing from Eli Buekes (Cape Town Surfriders) saw him emerge victorious in the U16 boys from Aya Gericke (Eden), Saxton Randall eThekweni and Angelo Faulkner (Nelson Mandela Bay).

Kirsty MicGillivray (Nelson Mandela Bay) was the popular U18 Girls winner, with Nina Harmse (Eden), Natasha Van Greunen (Cape Winelands) and Sarah Ingram (Cape Winelands) taking up the minor slots.

Surfer of the moment is young Ford Van Jaarsveldt, who won a very close U18 Boys final, against Joshe Faulkner (Nelson Mandela Bay), Koby Oberholzer (eThekweni) and Adin Masencamp (Cape Winelands).

The VonZipper Airshow was won by Eli Buekes, who also won the prize for the BOS Highest Heat Score.

The Wazoogle Surfer Of The Contest – Boys went to Nate Colby, and the Wazoogle Surfer Of The Contest – Girls went to Caroline Brown.

The Skull Candy Spirit Award went to UGU, and the Freedom Cup was won by Cape Town Surfers.

Freedom Cup

1st Cape Town Surfers

2nd eThekweni

3rd Nelson mandela Bay surfers

4th Buffalo City

5th Cape Winelsands

6th Ugu

7th Eden District

8th Ilembe

9th SA Development

All the results can be found on

Taghiti Gericke

Taghiti Gericke Photo: © Kody McGregor

Adin Masencamp

Adin Masencamp Photo: © Kody McGregor

Mitch Du Preez

Mitch Du Preez Photo: © Ian Thurtell

Author: craig jarvis from The Truth Collective.

More Info on Cape Town Surfriders Win Billabong South African Junior Surfing Championships here:

You may also read!

2017 Varsity Cup

UJ coach eyes fresh Varsity Cup start

Loose forward Adriaan Bester (right) will add valuable experience to the University of Johannesburg rugby team when they take

Aiden Markram and Lungi Ngidi join the Proteas

As Varsity Cricket gears up for an electric and colourful week in Potchefstroom, two former stars of the tournament

Madibaz get a taste of Varsity Cup’s power play rule

Madibaz get a taste of Varsity Cup’s power play rule

Madibaz rugby player Justin Hollis will be keen to make an impact in the Varsity Cup this year. The


Mobile Sliding Menu

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :